Per AFS security policy, users who are inactive for more than 90 days will require a password change to regain access to the system. Users who are inactive for more than 1 year will be disabled and will need to be re-enabled by a Client Administrator to regain access to the system.
As a Client Admin you have access to setting parameters for your users’ passwords and timeout sessions. To get to these settings, click on Administration > Client > Password & Session. Here is what you will need to know about each setting.
Expiration Days – This field allows you to set the amount of days before your user’s password expires and it’s time to set a new one. When the amount of days has been reached, your users will be notified to reset their password and will be displayed on the upper right-hand corner of the portal. If you set this setting to 0, this disables the feature.
Expiration Notification Days – Along with setting the expiration days, you can also set the notification days. This will alert your users as to how many days are left for them to reset their password. This notification also appears in the upper right-hand corner of the portal. If you set this setting to 0, this disables the feature.
Reuse Check Count – This setting sets the number of unique passwords that users must go through before they can reuse an old password. A user will not be able to reuse a password until this count has been met. If you set this setting to 0, this disables the feature.
Required Length – Set this to show the required character length of the password. There are also checkboxes that allow you to require certain types of characters. These certain requirements are an Uppercase letter, Lowercase letter, Number, and/or a Special Character.
Lockout Threshold – This allows you to set the number of times a user is able attempt their password before they get locked out of their account. The user will need to refer to the Lockout Duration period before they can get access to their account. If you set this setting to 0, this disables the feature.
Lockout Duration Minutes – You can set the number of minutes a user is locked out before they can attempt to log into the web portal again. The user will need to wait until after this time period has passed before attempting to log back in. If this is set to 0, an Admin will need to reset the password for the user to gain access to their account. If you are having continuous issues with this, AFS Support is also available for help with this.
Password Recovery Overrides Lockout – If a user gets locked out of their account, checking this box will allow the user to reset their password to regain access to their account.
Recovery Duration New User Minutes – This is the number of minutes that a user must set up their account once the user has been created. If the time has passed, an Administrator will need to send out another Welcome Email. This can be sent from the User list. Default time is 10080 minutes (7 days).
Recovery Duration Existing User Minutes – Here is where you set the time a user must complete a password recovery. If a user does not reset their password, they will need to have another password reset link sent to them either from the User list or request a link from the Login page. Default time is 30 minutes.
Session Inactivity Minutes – Enter the number of minutes of inactivity until a session expires. When a session expires, the user will be logged out and will have to log back into the web portal. If you set this setting to 0, this disables the feature.
Session Max Minutes – This is the maximum amount of time that a user can stay logged in the web portal. The default is set to 480 minutes (8 hours) and if you set this setting to 0, this disables the feature.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.